Compare··Updated ·5 min read

NotchNook vs Alcove: Feature Table, Pricing, Who Each Suits

NotchNook (lo.cafe) is $25 one-time or $3 a month, runs on macOS 14.6 or later, and leads on widgets and a files shelf; Alcove is $14.99 one-time and leads on Dynamic Island animation, instant notifications and customizable HUDs. Pick NotchNook if you stage files and want a widget board above the menu bar, Alcove if you want the iPhone-style island and its notifications.

By Deepak Yadav, building NotchBay

The short version

  • NotchNook: $25 one-time or $3/month, macOS 14.6 or later, also on Setapp. Widgets, live actions, a files shelf and swipe gestures; on a Mac without a notch it becomes a handler with the same functions.
  • Alcove: $14.99 one-time. Fluid transitions, instant notifications, live activities, swipe gestures, customizable HUDs and Lock Screen widgets.
  • Neither wins outright. Files and widgets say NotchNook; motion, notifications and HUDs say Alcove. I build NotchBay, a third notch app, and say so where it comes up.

#Two different bets on the notch

NotchNook, from lo.cafe, treats the notch as a home for widgets and a place to stash files. Alcove recreates the iPhone's Dynamic Island on the Mac: fluid transitions, live activities and notifications that slide out of the cutout. The choice is less about which app is better and more about which idea you want living above your menu bar; the category as a whole is mapped in the Dynamic Island for Mac guide.

I build NotchBay, a competing notch app, so treat the short section about it as interested. The tables in the middle are built from each maker's own page and are checkable either way.

#Specs at a glance

SpecNotchNookAlcove
Price$25 one-time, or $3 a month$14.99 one-time
Purchase modelOne-time or subscription; also on SetappOne-time, direct from tryalcove.com
Minimum macOSmacOS 14.6not stated on tryalcove.com
Runs on a Mac without a notch✓ becomes a handler with the same functionsnot stated on tryalcove.com
Current version1.6.21.7.7
Homebrew caskbrew install --cask notchnookbrew install --cask alcove
Maker's sitelo.cafe/notchnooktryalcove.com

Prices, requirements and features verified 5 Sep 2026 on lo.cafe/notchnook and tryalcove.com. Versions and casks from the NotchNook and Alcove app pages, checked 18 Aug 2026.

#Where the features split

Where one app simply does not aim at a feature, the cell says "not listed" rather than marking a failure: it means the maker's own page does not claim it.

DimensionNotchNookAlcove
Widget board (media, calendar, Shortcuts, notes, timers, to-dos)✓ core featurenot a widget board
Files shelf (drop zone, AirDrop)✓ core featurenot listed
Webcam mirrornot listed
Live activities✓ "live actions"✓ core feature
Instant notificationsnot a headline feature✓ core feature
Customizable HUDs (volume, brightness)not listed
Lock Screen widgetsnot listed
Swipe gestures✓ scroll and swipe
Fluid Dynamic Island transitions✓ the headline feature

Compiled from each app's own page on 5 Sep 2026. Both ship updates often; if a single row decides it for you, check that row on the maker's page before buying.

#Who NotchNook suits

NotchNook is the widgets-and-files pick. Expand the notch and you get a small control surface: media controls, a calendar, Shortcuts, notes, a webcam mirror, timers and to-do lists, arranged the way you like. Under it sits the files shelf, a drop zone where you park a file for a moment and pull it back out, or hand it off over AirDrop. The whole thing reads less like a novelty and more like a second, smaller Control Center that happens to live in the notch.

Two practical facts from lo.cafe's page: NotchNook needs macOS 14.6 or later, and on a Mac without a notch it turns into a handler with the same functions, so you are not locked out on an older MacBook or an external display. It costs $25 one-time or $3 a month, and it is on Setapp if you already pay for that. The trade-off is that notifications and system HUDs are not its headline features, so if that is what you are shopping for, keep reading.

#Who Alcove suits

Alcove is the animation-and-notifications pick, and the resemblance to the iPhone's Dynamic Island is the whole point. Fluid transitions are the feature its own page leads with, and the notch is treated as a live surface: instant notifications and live activities expand out of it, swipe gestures flick between states, customizable HUDs replace the stock volume and brightness overlays with something that matches the island, and Lock Screen widgets keep a presence when the Mac is locked.

At $14.99 one-time it is the cheaper of the two, and the demo clips on tryalcove.com are the fair way to judge whether the motion earns its reputation. What it does not try to be is a file shelf or a widget board, so a person who wants to stage documents will feel the gap that NotchNook fills. Its page does not state a minimum macOS version or what happens on a Mac without a notch, so check those two things before you pay if either applies to you.

#Where NotchBay sits between them

Here is the interested part, labeled as promised. NotchNook and Alcove cover widgets, files, motion and notifications between them. NotchBay is built around meetings instead: a calendar card with one-click Join, then mute, camera and leave from the notch for Zoom and Google Meet, plus a 60-clip clipboard tray and on-device dictation. It is $19 one-time with a 14-day money-back guarantee, and it is newer than both. The limits belong here too: it needs macOS 26 and is designed for a notched MacBook, the call controls need the Accessibility permission, and Meet works through Chrome, Brave or Comet, not Safari. The row-by-row trade-offs are in NotchBay vs NotchNook and NotchBay vs Alcove.

Shortest version: files and widgets say NotchNook, motion and notifications say Alcove, and a calendar full of calls says NotchBay.

#Cost, trials and hardware

On price the two are close: NotchNook is $25 one-time or $3 a month and is also on Setapp; Alcove is $14.99 one-time from its own site. Only NotchNook's page states a macOS floor, 14.6. Neither page advertises a trial as of 5 Sep 2026, so if that matters, look for one on the maker's page before you buy. Price is the fastest-rotting fact on a comparison page; the figures above were read on that date and the current terms live on lo.cafe and tryalcove.com.

On hardware, both make the most sense on a notched Mac, where the cutout measures 220x38 points on the 16-inch MacBook Pro and 185x32 points on the 14-inch, roughly 12 percent of the menu bar's width (the full table is in MacBook notch sizes). NotchNook explicitly runs on Macs without a notch as a handler; Alcove's page does not say. For contrast, NotchBay is $19 one-time with a 14-day money-back guarantee and requires macOS 26 (Tahoe). If you want the wider field first, the best Mac notch apps roundup and the NotchNook alternatives list set the scene.

#Frequently asked questions

Is NotchNook or Alcove better?

Neither wins outright. NotchNook is the pick if you want a board of widgets and a files shelf, and it is the only one of the two whose site states a macOS floor (14.6). Alcove is the pick if you want Dynamic Island animation, instant notifications, customizable HUDs and Lock Screen widgets, and at $14.99 one-time it is the cheaper of the two.

Does NotchNook work on a Mac without a notch?

Yes. lo.cafe says that on a Mac without a notch NotchNook turns into a handler with the exact same functions, so most features still work; the effect is strongest on an actual notched MacBook.

Can I run NotchNook and Alcove at the same time?

You can install both, but they compete for the same strip of screen and will visually collide. Pick one as your daily driver rather than running them together.

Facts checked against lo.cafe and tryalcove.com on 5 Sep 2026. Spot something stale? Email hello@thedeepflux.com and I’ll correct it.
Deepak YadavCrafting beautiful digital consumer products.

Product designer and indie hacker. Founder of Ossian Design Lab. Builds and ships business and consumer digital products in public.

Follow on X

Read next.

Look up.
It's all right there.